skip to Main Content

Few people know that walking in the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona, ​​you can visit the ancient Roman cemetery. It is located directly under the open sky in a small area around the corner from Las Ramblas. Tomb of the Roman necropolis date from the first century AD, they were located on the side of the road behind the ramparts, as in ancient times was not allowed to perform the burial within the city. Thus, the Romans formed a tradition to bury along the roads leading to the city walls.

In our 1936 it was discovered around here 70 ancient tombs, and from I to III century AD. The main type of tombstones in this necropolis called "kupa novel". As a rule, they were lower class tombstones. All kupah done a round hole "feeding" the dead. This ceremony is called "profusio". During the veneration of the dead had to go to the cemetery and to feed the dead relatives through the hole to the dead not wandered and did not frighten the living. Under the hole inside the clumps were placed vessels for food and drink.

Near the graves grow roses and rosemary, this ritual plants and in our time in the abundance of plant in the Spanish cemeteries. Researchers-arheobotanika carefully studied the remains of pollen, seeds and charred wood and announced the list of what was growing in the cemetery of those ancient times. It was the evergreen oaks, pines, olive, willow, hazel and juniper, strawberry tree, rosemary, oleander, heather, cistus and ephedra.

Cognitive video

In the necropolis open a small museum, which displays objects found during the excavations, as well as available information about the various funeral rituals of the ancient Romans and the territorial organization Barsino.

SONY DSC
Address: Plaza Villa de Madrid
Metro station: Catalonia
Phone: +34 932 562 100
Working hours: Tuesday and Thursday 11 to 14-00. Saturday and Sunday 11 to 19-00.
entrance fee: 2 € €

Leave a Reply

Gotico

Other places in the area:
Barcelona Restaurant, where you can enjoy Christmas meals
Columns of the Temple of Augustus
Vegan Burgers Gopal
Barcelona's Liceu Opera House
Апартаменты Happy Terrace
Cervantes restaurant
Back To Top
Search

skip to Main Content

Мало кто знает, что гуляя по Готическому Кварталу Барселоны, можно посетить древнеримское кладбище. Оно находится прямо под открытым небом на небольшой площади в двух шагах от бульвара Лас Рамблас. Могилы римского некрополя датируются первым веком нашей эры, они располагались на обочинах дороги за крепостной стеной, так как в древности не разрешалось совершать захоронения в пределах города. Таким образом, у римлян сформировалась традиция хоронить вдоль ведущих к городским стенам дорог.

В 1936 году здесь было обнаружено около 70 древних могил, от I и до III века нашей эры. Основной тип надгробий в этом некрополе называется “купа романа”. Как правило, это были надгробия низшего сословия. Во всех купах проделаны круглые отверстия для «кормления» усопшего. Такая церемония называлась “profusio”. В дни почитания мертвых нужно было сходить на кладбище и накормить умерших родственников через это отверстие, чтобы мертвецы не бродили и не пугали живых. Под отверстие внутри купы ставились сосуды для еды и питья.

Возле могил растут розы и розмарин, эти ритуальные растения и в наше время в обилии сажают на испанских кладбищах. Исследователи-археоботаники внимательно изучили остатки пыльцы, семян и обгорелой древесины и огласили список того, что росло на кладбище в те древние времена. Это были вечнозеленые дубы, сосны, оливы, ивы, лещина и можжевельник, земляничное дерево, розмарин, олеандр, вереск, эфедра и ладанник.

Познавательное видео

При некрополе открыт небольшой музей, где выставлены предметы, найденные при раскопках, а так же доступна информация о различных похоронных ритуалах древних римлян и территориальной организации Барсино.

SONY DSC
Адрес: Plaça Vila de Madrid
Станция метро: Catalunya
Телефон: +34 932 562 100
Время работы: Вторник и четверг с 11 и до 14-00. Суббота и воскресенье с 11 и до 19-00.
Плата за вход: 2 € €

Добавить комментарий

Gotico (Готический Квартал)

Другие места в этом районе:
Ночной клуб Macarena
Прокат велосипедов в Барселоне
Ресторан La Dolça Hermínia
Апартаменты Рамблас
Ресторан Pasta Bar
Кондитерская Escriba
Back To Top
Поиск